Distinction

I didn’t get addicted to you as one gets accustomed to a drug,

gradually,

increasingly…

 

I loved you at once

when you shed your demons upon me,

when you showed me your disfigured face,

I loved you when you loved me the least,

because it was then that I recognized you.

How could I not redeem you

when you bled your sins out on my hands?

I wrenched my heart out and grafted yours.

 

But now that I made restitution,

two pulses beat in you, while I linger on none.

Leave a Reply

